Book Review: a good reminder: i am His

425975  Spoken For: Embracing Who You Are and Whose You Are

When I first saw the cover of this book, I couldn’t help but think about how simple it looked. Would it be another dull read? An easy one that I would breeze right through? I also assumed that it would be meant for a younger audience.

Nope. I couldn’t have been more off base.

While I was waiting for that book to come in the mail, I had picked up another book by Robin Jones Gunn. The name sounded familiar and upon reading those initial pages, I fell in love with this author. Alyssa Bethke has also become one of my favorites through reading this book. It’s not just for teens or young adults…it’s for all of us. Spoken For has a message every woman can relate to. We were created to love and we have this deep need to be loved back.

Who doesn’t love a good romance? This girl definitely does! But in our search for romance in this world, we often miss the beating heart behind the greatest romance of all time: one that we all get to choose to have with our Savior.

The message in this book is one that I desperately needed to hear and it left my heart on its knees more often than not. These gifted writers helped me understand that God’s love is so much deeper and fuller than anything we could experience in this world. No matter what season you’re in, you will walk away from this book with a bigger and better outlook on life, the world we live in and who you are. We are not defined by our circumstances. My name is not “broken,” “beaten,” or “bruised.” I’m not considered “trash.” I am Beloved. I am a daughter of the King….a daughter of the Almighty God. You are, too, if you choose to accept the truth He pours over us every moment of every day.

(I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.)

Leave a Reply

